ECU LB Named to C-USA All-Freshman Team

ECU LB Named to C-USA All-Freshman Team

IRVING, TEXAS -  East Carolina outside linebacker Montese Overton has been named to the 2012 Conference USA All-Freshman Team, according to an announcement by the league office Tuesday afternoon.


Overton, despite being limited by injuries to eight games, has booked 29 tackles in his first year on the active roster for the Pirates. Included in his 29 hits were 3.5 stops for lost yardage and a sack. Additionally, Overton tallied a pass breakup and a fumble recovery that he returned for a touchdown, one of four non-offensive scores in 2012. Of his 29 stops, he has 14 solo efforts and 18 hits on running plays.


The South Central (N.C.) High School product was named the Conference USA Defensive Player-of-the-Week on Sept. 17 after his strong performance against Southern Miss in the first start of his career. Against the Golden Eagles, Overton recorded a career-high 10 tackles (four solo), 2.5 tackles for lost yardage and a 16-yard fumble return for a score.

Overton began his ECU career by recording five tackles (four solo) including a sack, against South Carolina in the Pirates' second game of the season and followed up the USM contest with an eight-tackle (five solo) performance against North Carolina.


In Conference USA play, Overton recorded 16 tackles and 2.5 TFLs in six contests.

Eleven of the 12 Conference USA schools are represented on the freshman team with Tulsa, Rice and Marshall leading the way with four selections each. The league will announce its freshman-of-the-year Wednesday, Dec. 5.

2012 Conference USA All-Freshman Team


QB – Austin Brown, UAB

RB – Kevin Grooms, Marshall

RB – Luke Turner, Rice

OL – Cameron Dees, Marshall

OL – Taylor Fallin, Memphis

OL – Caleb Williams, Rice

OL – Taylor Lasecki, SMU

OL – Cameron Blankenship, UAB

TE – Alan Cross, Memphis

WR – Deontay Greenberry, Houston

WR – Larry McDuffey, Houston

WR – Breshad Perriman, UCF



DL – Ricky Hunter, Memphis

DL – Christian Covington, Rice

DL – Derrick Alexander, Tulane

DL – Deion Green, UCF

LB – Montese Overton, East Carolina

LB – D.J. Hunter, Marshall

LB – Trent Martin, Tulsa

DB – Trevon Stewart, Houston

DB – Shakiel Randolph, SMU

DB – Darion Monroe, Tulsa

DB – Lorenzo Doss, UCF


Special Teams

K – Daniel Schwartz, Tulsa

P – Tyler Williams, Marshall

KR – Autrey Golden, UTEP

PR – Dennis Parks, Rice

LS – Rey Higuera, Tulsa

Most Popular