SEA LEVEL, CARTERET COUNTY -

The recent round of winter storms has resulted in cancelled blood drives and thousands of lost blood and platelet donations. 

Carolina East Medical Center receives a shipment of donated blood six days a week. Staff there say it is vital to keep their supplies up. 

"Most of the time we can get what we want, but sometimes we have to talk with the surgeons and ask them if patients that need three or four bags could go with one or two safely to keep our inventory right," says Pathologist Bart Newell. 

Newell says when blood is donated it is often separated into red blood cells and platelets. Platelets are especially helpful to patients undergoing pen-heart surgeries or have cancer. It is common for cancer patients to need six-units worth of platelets at once.

Several blood drives in eastern Carolina were cancelled in January and early February because of the snow. For a complete list of upcoming drives visit the Red Cross' website. 

Thursday, 2/20/2014

Carolina East Health System

2000 Neuse Boulevard

New Bern

8:30 am -  2:30 pm

Friday, 2/21/2014

Emerald Isle Community Center

7506 Emerald Drive

Emerald Isle

2:00 pm -  7:00 pm

Friday, 2/21/2014

Oriental United Methodist

404 Freemason Street

Oriental

1:00 pm -  6:00 pm

Saturday, 2/22/2014

Lowes Home Improvement

401 WB Mclean Drive

Cape Carteret

11:00 am -  3:00 pm

Wednesday, 2/26/2014

Bridgeton Elementary School

230 Branch Canal Road

New Bern

1:00 pm -  6:00 pm

Friday, 2/28/2014

Southside High School Auxiliary Gym

5700 Hwy 33 E.

Chocowinity

8:30 am -  1:30 pm

Monday, 3/3/2014

First United Methodist Morehead City

900 Arendell St.

Morehead City

9:00 am -  3:00 pm

Friday, 3/7/2014

Lowe's Home Improvement

150 Lowes Boulevard

New Bern

10:00 am - 12:45 pm

Friday, 3/7/2014

Wal-Mart New Bern

3005 Clarendon Road

New Bern

3:15 pm -  6:15 pm

Friday, 3/7/2014

Otway Fire and Rescue

509 Hwy 70 E

Otway

11:30 am -  5:00 pm

Friday, 3/7/2014

Starbuck's # 11761

5186 US Hwy 70

Morehead City

1:00 pm -  5:00 pm

Friday, 3/14/2014

New Bern Mall

3134 Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd

New Bern

11:00 am -  4:00 pm

Saturday, 3/15/2014

Broad Creek United Church of Christ

Trent Rd.

Oriental

9:00 am -  1:00 pm

Saturday, 3/15/2014

Lowes Home Improvement

5219 Highway 70 West

Morehead City

11:00 am -  1:45 pm

Saturday, 3/15/2014

Walmart of Morehead City

300 NC Highway 24

Morehead City

4:15 pm -  7:15 pm

Tuesday, 3/18/2014

Carteret General Hospital in Education Building

3500 Arendell St.

Morehead City

10:00 am -  4:00 pm

Wednesday, 3/19/2014

Emerald Golf Club

5000 Clubhouse Dr.

New Bern

9:00 am -  3:00 pm

Thursday, 3/20/2014

Knights of Columbus

1125 Pine Tree Drive

New Bern

12:00 pm -  6:00 pm

Friday, 3/21/2014

Knights of Columbus

1125 Pine Tree Drive

New Bern

10:00 am -  4:00 pm

Friday, 3/21/2014

Pamlico County Chamber of Commerce

10642 Hwy 55 E

Grantsboro

11:00 am -  3:00 pm

Thursday, 3/27/2014

Duke University Marine Lab

135 Marine Lab Road

Beaufort

10:00 am -  2:00 pm

Friday, 3/28/2014

Havelock Moose Family Center

1007 East Main Street

Havelock

9:00 am -  1:00 pm

Saturday, 3/29/2014

Dayspring Christian Center

1246 Pollocks St.

New Bern

9:30 am -  2:00 pm

Sunday, 3/30/2014

#9 Township Fire Department

3783 Nc Highway 55 W

New Bern

12:00 pm -  6:00 pm

Monday, 3/31/2014

Lighthouse Mennonite Church

1281 Honolulu Road

Grifton

3:00 pm -  7:00 pm