Four local teams win state football titles

Four local teams win state football titles

Four high school football teams in the NewsChannel 12 viewing area won state championships.  New Bern, SW Onslow and Plymouth won thrillers, while Havelock turned a one point halftime deficit into a 34 point win.  Tarboro was the only hard luck loser.  The Vikings were driving late in the 4th quarter when they failed to covert a 4th and two at the East Lincoln 20 yard line.  That ended a run of three straight state titles for Tarboro.

New Bern pulled out a dramatic 39-38 win over Porter Ridge in the 4-A title game in Chapel Hill.  Josh Taylor drove the team 95 yard in the final five minutes, and was capped off by Jachin Watkins 4th rushing touchdown of the game.  It was New Bern's second state title in school history.  The other came in 2007.

Havelock turned a 21-20 halftime deficit into a 55-21 win over Concord in Winston-Salem.  The Rams scored two defensive touchdowns in the game and shutout the spiders in the second half to win their second straight 3-A state championship and the third in school history.

SW Onslow won its 4th state championship in school history. J'Veon Walker had a 40-yard touchdown run and a 94-yard kickoff return to help the Stallions beat defending state champ Swain County 44-34 in the 1-AA title game in Raleigh.

And Plymouth pulled out a 20-15 win over defending state champ Murphy in the 1-A title game in Raleigh.  Sharmontez Ferebee threw a 38-yard touchdown pass to DeAndre Phelps with 1:46 left.

The four state champions is the most ever in one season in the WCTI viewing area.

Most Popular